First, let’s try to understand why ad systems do not provide tools that would allow us to estimate the budget and cost per click of future campaigns for YAN and Display Networks.
Several years ago, in the “Budget Forecast” tool from Yandex.Direct, you could see the approximate number of impressions and clicks in the YAN, as well as the budget and cost of a click. As for Google Ads, the old interface had a Display Campaign Planner tool, but its functionality is now built into the campaign creation and targeting options. So, instead of developing these tools, advertising systems, on the contrary, cut them down.
What are the difficulties
Every specialist who has managed to use forecasters at least once will say that budgets and cost per click did not coincide with real ones in 99% of cases. There are a number of reasons why the forecast will change dramatically after the launch of an advertising campaign:
The emergence of new sites for Yandex and Google partners, which leads to an increase in coverage.
Cleaning ineffective sites by a specialist. This leads to a narrowing of the audience;
Number of ad formats. TGB and banners of various types and sizes are used in YAN and KMS. The advertiser often changes their composition depending on the effectiveness, which leads to a change in coverage and cost per click.
After launch, many people start experimenting with negative keywords and operators in YAN and KMS, although they work completely differently from search. This can also greatly change the reach and cost per click.
These are just a few of the factors that affect the bottom line. The specialist makes adjustments to advertising campaigns every day, there is no way to take them all into account before the launch.
All this tells us that the most correct thing is to create and launch an advertising campaign with a test budget and make a forecast based on the statistics obtained. This option can be perfect for site owners who are engaged in advertising themselves or have a specialist on their staff.
But the decision to work with an agency or other external contractor is made, among other things, according to the provided forecast of the budget and the results of the advertising campaign. Therefore, it is still necessary to provide a media plan for these instruments. How can this problem be solved?
First, you need to determine the purpose of launching advertising in YAN and CCM. In most cases, campaigns in ad networks are launched as an auxiliary tool for search: they warm up the user’s interest and prevent him from forgetting that he was looking for products. These ads are ideal for products that are purchased frequently, such as promoting food delivery or clothing delivery. She can also increase brand awareness or inform about an event. In the first case, the cost of the attracted user is more important to us, and in the second, coverage and number of impressions.
Once you’ve identified your goal, let’s move on to the most important thing – predicting the cost of a click. If you have experience in a topic for which a calculation is required, then you need to look at the cost of a click and put about the same figures in the forecast.
If there are no similar projects, then consider the simplest solution to the problem.
Step 1… Determine the budget that you plan to spend on advertising in the Yandex and Google networks. If the budget is common for all tools, then it is necessary at the calculation stage to determine how much of it will go for each type of advertising.
Advertising in YAN and CCM is very different from search in that it is almost impossible to understand the budget ceiling. To predict search advertising, we can load the full semantic core into the predictor, set the maximum positions and get the approximate maximum possible results. There is no such possibility for networks.
If you don’t know the effectiveness of the tools, then at the start you can split the budget equally. That is, if the optimal budget for searching in the positions that you have chosen is 40,000 rubles, then you can take the same amount for networks. After collecting statistics, correct it.
Step 2… Collect only request masks for advertising, as the networks use higher-frequency phrases.
Step 3… Use Yandex’s Budget Forecast tool. Set the volume of traffic that you would like to receive on the search and fix the cost of a click and CTR.
In the example above, the cost per click with VAT was 5.5 rubles.
Step 4… The price in YAN and KMS is always lower than in the search (unless it was specially overstated), so you need to understand what reduction factor to make. Since we do not have a site in a similar topic, we can take the average for all projects, regardless of the direction. For example, in our office it is 50% less. Accordingly, we reduce the search price by half, we get 2.75 rubles.
Step 5… Based on the fact that in the first step we determined the budget for these tools, now we can predict the number of clicks by dividing the budget by the predicted cost per click.
Step 6… If the number of impressions is still important to us, then we pay attention to the average CTR of all clients in YAN, with whom we worked, in our projects it averages 0.2%. We divide the number of clicks received by the CTR, for example, if we need 100 clicks, then 100 / 0.002 = 50,000, we will get 50,000 impressions.
The forecast is ready. It will change immediately after the launch of the advertising campaign, this is normal – we have discussed the reasons above.
Plans need to be viewed not as infallible, but as a rough vision of the campaign’s development. Set goals in the form of requests and calls, and the cost of a click and reach will fade into the background.